Jane Austen: Pride and Prejudice & Emma

Hi!

I’m starting this type of posts where I will write about my favourite books. Those are most commonly books which inspire me and make me think about them even long after I finish them – and when I read them cover to cover, I want to reread them as soon as possible. You know when you get the feeling like you’ve lost something? Well, that’s how I feel when I finish those books. In those kind of posts you will find some classics as well as the newest releases, and if you have any suggestions, share them so I (and those of you who may be reading this) can discover other great works. And please, leave the comment below to tell me what you think about the books, what are your favourites… I would love to read all about those.

When I thought about which book to share with you first, I thought about two, both from the same author – Jane Austen. I’ve heard about Pride and Prejudice a long time ago, kind of knew it existed even when I was growing up, but I was too young so I never came to reading it. I was obsessed with Harry Potter back then, too, so I didn’t even think about reading something else. But then, I finally decided it’s time to read it. And I’m not even a bit sorry for that, as it really is a great book. I didn’t know anything about other Austen’s works, and didn’t really think about them despite I loved her style of writing. I discovered Emma in Amsterdam’s Waterstones, where I was looking for an English version of Pride and Prejudice. I found such a beautiful release, it was so perfect I just couldn’t leave it behind. So I bought it, read it and fell in love with it immediately. It’s just something about Jane Austen’s books I can relate to completely.

“We are all fools in love.”

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE takes us back to England in late 18th century. In the house of Mr Bennet, mother’s only worry is to marry all five of her daughters into wealthy families. Heroine of the book is Elisabeth (Lizzy) Bennet, smart and beautiful young woman who is not afraid to speak her own mind and is too often embarrased by her mother’s blind attempts to marry her. When she meets Mr Darcy, they both instantly hate each other. Yet the story gets complicated when the two of them realise love isn’t a choice, but destined feeling.

“You must be the best judge of your own happiness.”

EMMA is a young, very pretty girl, who still lives with her rich father, although she’s enough old to get married, but really doesn’t want to. After all, she is the only daughter that is left to take care of her old, ill father. In her free time, she enjoys predicting who will marry whom, no matter if she’s wrong or right, she will tell her ideas to anybody who will listen, really, and with that she manages to break quite a few young women’s hearts. With a love interest or two, she doesn’t have boring life, and if you think it’s just a simple love story, you are wrong – it’s a lot more than that.

 

Love,

xxx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

